Thoughts about data control

You must understand the Game Editor concepts, before post here.

Thoughts about data control

Postby DST » Mon May 25, 2009 10:31 pm

I want to explain that i'm not trying to be a professional telling everyone else what to do, rather i'm still learning how, and often debating the very methods i post.

This is a learning game we're all playing together, and though we may be playing different levels of this game, we're all playing the same game.

So it seems to me that there are 3 main issues that keep appearing over and over again on the forum.

Controlling physics in Platformers
    Handling data over multiple actors - especially assigning/retrieving actor variables from other actors/scripts.
    Errors with crashing/freezing.

These forces are not simply obstacles to be overcome and left behind, they're more like mountains to climb - you are always climbing up one of the mountains, and you cannot ever reach the top, because the top would be perfection. There is no such thing, all the best company in the world can do is be "higher on the mountain than any other person has been".

The overall concept of game structure will assist you in all three; as you learn one, parts of the others become more obvious. There is a super sensible method for handling nearly everything, if we could only find out what that method is, and be able to comprehend it.

First let me point out that Rome was not built in a day. What this means in learning, is that you can't learn C++ in a day. To do so would damage your brain beyond repair, we generally refer to something like this as "Trauma".

Not only does it take time for your brain to build pathways(just like it takes time build muscles), so too the data is only useful if its relative to everything else; For instance, what good would it be to learn how to rebuild an automobile transmission if you haven't yet learned how to remove the housing and take the transmission out first?